This occurs when binary management is enabled for a site and there is a dependency tag to a binary file that can't be published, and you have selected "Include Unpublished Dependencies" with the publish. The system is trying to publish a binary file that is linked to or added on the page and when it can't, the page publish cannot be completed. This error can be resolved with one of the following solutions:
- Update the link so that it links to an already-published file.
- Remove the dependency tag.
- Clear the checkbox for "Include Unpublished Dependencies."
- If an image file is causing the error, add the image that is expected or rename an existing image to the file name that the tag is expecting.
If the Submit for Approval button appears, then you don't have the permission to publish the content and must submit it to another user for approval instead. An approver has been assigned either at the user level or for a content area such as a page or folder. If you need your permissions changed, contact a system administrator to be added to the Bypass Approval group or remove the approver requirement.
If you encounter any issues with buttons or parts of the screen not being visible, try zooming out or resetting the zoom. Browser shortcut keys are:
- Zoom In: Ctrl and +, Ctrl+Mousewheel Forward (PC), Command and + (Mac)
- Zoom Out: Ctrl and -, Ctrl+Mousewheel Backward (PC), Command and - (Mac)
- Reset Zoom: Ctrl+0 (PC), Command+0 (Mac)
When allowing specific users to publish, keep in mind that there are multiple settings in Omni CMS that control which users can publish content without submitting to an approver. Publish settings for specific folders can be configured by creating a group or groups of trusted users, and modifying the access settings of specific folders to allow users in those groups to publish within that directory.
However, this is not the only place in the site where publish settings are configured. If you have allowed certain users to publish in a directory but they still cannot do so, check the production server settings for your site, located in the site's Production Server FTP Settings (available only to level 10 Administrators). This panel controls access to the production server for your site, which is where publication takes place.
Within Production Server FTP Settings, look for the "Available To" setting. This specifically controls who can publish on your site. By default, it is set to "(Administrators Only)," but other available options are "Everyone" and any groups that have been configured for the site.
If you would like multiple users to have publish capabilities in different directories in the site, the recommended action is to configure the "Available To" setting so that the group "Everyone" can publish, and then restrict publish options to specific groups on a folder-by-folder basis.
There is no way to undo a publish, or to stop a publish once it starts. However, if you published content that you don't want to be on your website yet, there are two possible solutions:
- Revert to the last published version of the file. This returns the file to how it looked before you published it. Then publish the page again to make the change live.
- If you want to remove the page from the website entirely, delete it from the production server. Once a page is deleted from the production server, the only way to restore it is republishing it. By default, only users levels 8 to 10 can delete files, but users levels 1 to 7 can be granted that ability.